King County Cities Climate Collaboration (K4C)

In 2014, King County and twelve of its cities signed an agreement to collaborate on reducing their greenhouse gas emissions by 25% by 2020, then 50% by 2030, and 80% by 2050. The collaboration agreement outlines important areas in which cities can take action. Additional cities signed on over the years, and in 2019, the K4C updated its Letter of Commitment. Cities are signing on to the updated letter, including Mercer Island, Issaquah, and Kirkland (and a number of others–the signing process is continuing!). The cities who signed the 2014 letter, the 2019 letter, or both, include the following.

BurienLake Forest ParkSammamish
IssaquahMercer IslandSeattle
KenmoreNormandy ParkShoreline
KentPort of SeattleSnoqualmie

For more information on K4C, please see:

For more background on what goes into an effective climate action plan for a city, see our page on Building an Effective Climate Action Plan.

King County 2019 Wedge Analysis: understanding climate action possibilities in King County

Climate reduction planning is complex. To help lay out potential pathways, planners analyse data and create a diagram called a “wedge analysis.” King County has a wedge analysis that was done in 2019.
To read a wedge analysis, first look at the rising line at the top edge. This is where our climate emissions are headed.* Then look at the falling line at the bottom edge. This is where we’re aiming: the overall level of reductions we need to achieve.

Between the top line and the bottom line are “wedges” that show some of the reduction-oriented actions that can be built into a climate action plan. If all of the wedges work as imagined, we will achieve the full amount of reductions. If we can’t achieve a certain wedge, a different one needs to be substituted.

Any wedge analysis will have to be based on evaluating which actions are probably most achievable and effective. This cannot be known precisely. But it does give a sense of how the pieces might fit together.

Here are more suggestions for looking at the King County Wedge Analysis from 2019. Look at the right and left edges, and notice the numbers for the actions (or wedges). Actions such as #1 and #9 are happening at the state level, helping support the efforts of cities. At the city level, actions #2 and #5 are very important but challenging steps that are crucial for cities to take. By speaking thoughtfully and persistently to our city governments, we can help these steps be achieved.

* The top line may reflect an assumption that emissions per person will increase, or (as in our area) emissions per person will likely remain relatively stable but population and jobs will increase. Either way, it shows how emissions are likely to increase over time.